
General Contractor Information  

General Business Licenses  

Click here to view general business license requirements. 

Employment Requirements  

If you plan to have employees click here to view employment requirements.  

Industry Permits  
A General or Mechanical Contractors license is issued by the SC Contractors Licensing Board a division 
of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.  

The License is required for anyone performing “commercial” construction over $5000 in the regulated 

classifications listed in Title 40, Chapter 11, Section 40-11-410(An Act to Regulate the Practice of 
General and Mechanical Contracting in SC).  
 
To be eligible to obtain the license, you must pass a technical exam (when required), a business 

management/law exam and be able to document 2 years of “commercial” experience within the last 5 
years. Residential work may also be performed using the General and Mechanical Contractors license 
but may not be used as part of the “commercial” experience. For more information on applying for a 
license, please visit SC Labor, Licensing and Regulation. For more information on professional 
licensing, see SC LLR. 

To determine public health and environmental authority's standards and requirements, visit the 
SCDHEC site for additional information. 

Use Tax - Materials purchased outside of SC for use in SC. If you plan to purchase materials from 
outside the state of South Carolina and bring materials to the state for use on a job, the materials 
would be subject to South Carolina Use Tax when they are brought into the state. There is no charge 
for the Certificate. You may apply for a Department of Revenue Use Tax Certificate on-line through 
SCBOS. 

Motor Carrier Property Tax: If you plan to operate a motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 

greater than 26,000 pounds for the purpose of the transportation of property on a public highway, the 
contractor would be required to register for Motor Carrier Property Tax by completing Form PT-442, 
Application for Motor Carrier Property Tax. 

Land-disturbing activities including clearing, grading, grubbing, and excavation, except activities that 

disturb less than two (2) acres and are not part of a larger plan of development, require a state 
sediment and erosion control permit. For more information see SCDHEC's web site. 

Call before you dig. Anyone proposing to excavate, dig, bore, tunnel, blast, or disturb the earth in any 
manner in which buried utilities may be damaged is requested to contact the Palmetto Utilities 
Protection Service. 

Renovating or demolishing an existing facility? Before a facility or portion of a facility is demolished or 
renovated, the owner and the contractor must ensure that the facility has been thoroughly inspected 
for the presence of asbestos. The inspection must be performed by a person who has been trained as 
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an asbestos building inspector in accordance with requirements of the Asbestos Model Accreditation 

Plan. For more information see SCDHEC's Asbestos information. 

http://www.scdhec.gov/environment/AirQuality/Asbestos/ContractorLicensingFees/

